Jake’s Review of Green Lantern: First Flight

August 6, 2009

I love the Green Lantern. Hal Jordan is one of my favorite superheroes. He always the coolest in the room and he knows it, and it’s awesome. And there is not only one but two movies coming out about him. Oh my god, I love it. No matter what I think about casting or anything else about these movies, I love it.

Green Lantern: First Flight is an okay movie, but I don’t care because it’s a fracking Green Lantern movie. The film would be better if they would have given it more time to tell the story because it moves very fast and I would have liked for it to take its time more. I would have liked to spend more time at Ferris Air and get to know those characters.

The movie had a few changes to the origin that I could have done without, like in the beginning Hal Jordan is flying a simulator instead of an actual plane. That I didn’t like at all and thought is was not at all necessary. Another thing is the fact that Sinestro turned evil at the end and while he does have to turn evil at some point, I don’t think it should be done so quickly and hopefully the live action movie doesn’t do too. And this is just a nitpick but, why is Oa Cloud City? And also can somebody explain to me how Hal Jordan, with no training at all, use the ring to create a blue tooth headset and take out Kilowog?

In the end this direct-to-DVD DC animated feature is a rental, unless you are a huge Green Lantern fan like me. I give Green Lantern: First Flight a 3 out of 5

One Response to “Jake’s Review of Green Lantern: First Flight”

  1. Fortress Guy Says:

    It was nice to see a GL movie, but you are right, it was okay at best.

    It was not Burnett’s finest writing achievement. Despite the stellar voice cast, it was disappointing.

    Here is our take on it with lots of pics and a few bits if wit if you are interested:

    http://fortresstakes.wordpress.com/2009/10/18/green-lantern-first-flight-2009/


Leave a Reply

