Jake’s Review of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

June 26, 2009

I was very excited for this movie and I don’t know why. I didn’t really like the first movie all that much, but every time I see at at a store, I think I should buy this, and again I don’t know why. The only reasoning I have for those two things is nostalgia. I want to feel what I felt as a little kid whating the cartoon, movie, or playing with the toys. That sense of wonder and amazement at these “robots in disguise.” I want to be in the car and pass a tractor trailer and think to myself there’s Optimus or see a VW Beetle and think there’s Bumblebee. I realize now that nothing can compare to that in my mind.

I never really got into this film. I felt it dragged on and on and on. It started out fine but at some point I just lost all interest in it. I for the life of me, can’t think of when I lost interest, but I know it was early on. The story was okay, it had its flaw like most do, but all around it was a pretty solid plot. One glaring plot hole that I noticed throughout the movie was that the Allspark fragment that Sam had could have been used to bring Optimus back to life and probably shave a few minutes off the length.

This movie also made a giant mistake by bring Megaton and Optimus back to life in this movie. This tells the audience that death is never a permanent thing in this universe. So now in a sequel when the filmmakers went us care about these robots while they are fighting for their lives, we won’t be upset when they die because they can come back. Now had only one of them come back to life, it would not be as big of a deal but because the major villian and major hero both came back to life, that is what creates this problem.

There two more things worth talking about in this movie, and the first is the amount of sex jokes. My God, there were way too many. From the small robot that Megan Fox captured humping her leg, to Sam’s mom eating special brownies and yelling around campus about how she heard her son lose his virginity. And last but certainly not least is that the Devastator has two mother fraking wrecking balls between its legs. What the frak happened to the writers, two of whom wrote Star Trek by the way, to make them think that the amount of sex jokes in this movie was good. Now don’t get me wrong, I like sex jokes as much as the next guy and there is nothing wrong with them but come on.

The second is the action sequences. When the Autobots and the Decepticons are fighting I cannot tell what is going on, they all look too similar. For example, in Egypt right after the Decepticons find out where Sam and mikela are hiding and they all go to attack there is a Decepticon who looks like Bumblebee. That confused the hell out of me.

In the end, if you enjoyed the first film you should like this one as well, if you didn’t like the first don’t  go see this, or if you are like me  and are in the middle, you’ll still be in the middle. It’s a film that knows its audience. I give Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen a 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

