Jake’s Review of Star Trek

May 18, 2009

I feel that I must start this review out by saying I am a hardcore Star Wars fan and I have bashed Star Trek on a few occasions in my time. Now I have seen the occasional episode of The Original Series and The Next Generation, and I enjoyed them and I have also seen the first movie from 1979 and thought it was very boring. But I have to say this new film is spectacular.

I was completely blown away by this movie. It exceeded my expectations in every way, to the point that I don’t think I have anything to complain about. The casting was spot on for the six crew members. Simon Pegg was a great Scotty and might just have been my favorite part of the movie. Chris Pine was awesome as Kirk and was able to become Kirk in my mind without doing a Shatner impression, which I am thankful for.  The only actor I had a bit of a problem, was that Anton Yelchin‘s Chekov was a little too over the top with the accent, but other than that I really have nothing to complain about.

The use of an alternate universe to make this movie Star Trek n00b friendly was brilliant and gave them an open range to explore in this movie and in the sequels that are sure to follow. And there are enough references to the main universe to make the hardcore Trekkies happy.

The bottom line is that you should see this movie as soon as possible. It was fun and vastly superior to X-Men Origins: Wolverine . I give Star Trek a 5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

