Jake’s Review of X-Men Origins: Wolverine

May 4, 2009

There is only one way to start this review out, X-Men Origins: Wolverine is a much better movie than X-Men The Last Stand. Now granted that is an easy feat to accomplish, but it is something for what was a dying franchise in my eyes a few years ago.  (If you haven’t figured it out yet I megaloathe X-Men the Last Stand with a passion)

Now, Wolverine was not really a film that I was looking forward to that excitedly, I wasn’t pumped for it as I was for Iron Man or The Dark Knight. It was more like a “I feel like I have to see this” kind of thing. And it wasn’t like The Incredible Hulk either, where I had a bit of the same feeling because of the last hulk movie, and then afterwards I really enjoyed the movie. I came out of the theater on Friday with the same basic feeling I went in with, “…meh…”.

It was not a good movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it wasn’t horrible either, it was mediocre. The story was more like a video game story line than a film’s and would fall a part if thought about it for one second. The acting was quite good though for the most part. Hugh Jackman still is Wolverine in my mind, and probably everyone’s, and was great again in the role. Liev Schreiber was great as Sabertooth and in my opinion was much better than Tyler Mane was in X-Men. Danny Huston was also great as Col. Stryker. Will I Am, Lynn Collins, Kevin Durand, and Daniel Henney were also all great in their roles, but there two roles that love in the movie.

The first was Ryan Reynolds as Wade Wilson, aka the real deadpool (we’ll get to that in a second). My God, he is Deadpool completely, no if ands or buts about, he owns that role. Like Christopher Reeve, Christian Bale, Tobey Maguire, and Robert Downey Jr. before him, he owns it. I just wish that he was on screen for more than about ten minutes, and then supposedly killed offscreen.

The other is Taylor Kitsch as Remy LeBeau, aka Gambit. he played the role perfectly, and I’m so happy that they didn’t go over the top with his Cajun accent because that could have been a disaster. The only thing else I have to say about Gambit is that I would have liked to have heard Gambit speak some French, but that is a nitpick more than anything.

Now I am not a fan of the creature refered to as Deadpool, at all. That is the worst part of the movie in my opinion. Why they change Deadpool when he would gain many new fans if you wouldn’t have changed him. That being said if the creature was just Weapon XI and not called Deadpool, I might have felt differently, maybe.

Another thing is the large amount of cameos at the end of the film, the two biggest being Scott Summers, aka Cyclops, and Emma Frost, aka The White Queen. They were being advertised as main characters and were put on the mother fraking poster. They were on screen for no more than fifteen minutes, if that, and to have them on the poster is just trying to bring in fans of those characters who might not have seen it otherwise. I’m surprised that they didn’t put Patrick Stewart on the poster.

With all that being said, I was entertained for the duration of the movie. If you have an afternoon to kill, go see it, just don’t expect anything to blow you away. I give X-Men Origins: Wolverine a 2.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

